Daniel Lemire's blog

, 6 min read

New Web host

9 thoughts on “New Web host”

  1. Dylan Burton says:

    Great! Thanks for this blog, I’ve been visiting it for at least 6 months now. Good stuff

  2. Nathan Kurz says:

    I’ve poked around a bit, and it seems to be working for me! I had one oddity clicking on the link “My Papers” in the side-column, where it took me to seemingly random old blog post, but then it has worked correctly all times after that.

    1. Nathan Kurz says:

      OK, I had the bug happen a few more times. I think the order was that I went to lemire.me, clicked on the top link to “New Web host”, and then clicked on “My Papers” in the left sidebar. It took me to https://lemire.me/blog/2008/07/23/encouraging-diversity-in-science/. I tried this pattern again, and I got to the same place. Then the next few attempts took me to https://lemire.me/en/#publications as designed. Then the next few went back to the same blog entry. So I’m not sure what’s actually happening, but it does seem to be a real bug.

    2. I second you about the ‘My publications’ link not working but my case is a little different. I couldn’t access the page at all! The link in the menu consistently takes me to the old blog post which is Encouraging diversity in science.

  3. Celia Dunn says:

    This is a very nice theme for sure. Thanks for the article by the way.

  4. dorian says:

    I forgot to post to your first post, but the best shared hosting there is (a combination between vps/shared in 1 account) is webfaction.com (i did extensive research many years ago).

  5. Joe Duarte says:

    Good. $50 per month is far too expensive for hosting a WP blog. As you likely discovered, the $10 tiers do not imply unmanaged hosting where you have to do all the work yourself. They manage it for you.

  6. Ed Vielmetti says:

    Hooray for performance!

  7. Abdul Razaq says:

    Check the best and reliable website http://www.websarb.com . $1.99/ per month with free domain, 5 GB SSD disk space, unlimited bandwidth and 99% uptime guarantee.