Daniel Lemire's blog

, 2 min read

My Science and Technology review for 2020

3 thoughts on “My Science and Technology review for 2020”

  1. Andrew Dalke says:

    The NY marriage executive order reminded me of proxy and double-proxy marriages, where one or neither of the couple is physically present. Yuri Malenchenko, for example, got married in 2003 while in space, to his bride in Texas.

    Searching now, I see the NYT has a piece on double-proxy marriages because of covid – https://www.nytimes.com/2020/12/15/fashion/weddings/another-effect-of-covid-thousands-of-double-proxy-weddings.html .

  2. Frank Astier says:

    I think you may have missed the Apple M1. The reason, to me, that this is important, is that it changes the previous model that Intel relied on. The new business model seems to rely on a closer vertical integration from software to hardware and reduces costs, while allowing more optimizations.

    1. I love the Apple M1, but I am not sure how to judge it long term.