Daniel Lemire's blog

, 2 min read

My Science and Technology review for 2019

3 thoughts on “My Science and Technology review for 2019”

  1. mbg says:

    The drone attack listed for point number six did not “[wipe] out 50% of Saudi Arabia’s oil supply,” but instead forced a temporary 50% cut to their daily production.

    The attack was on two sites, one of which was attacked with cruise missiles while the other was attacked with drones.

    1. Thanks for the comment. It is true that this specific disruption was short (resolved in a matter of weeks).

      According to Al Jazeera, the specific attack I refer to (the 2019 Abqaiq–Khurais attack) is one of several. I do not think I overstate the importance of these drone attacks.

  2. Wassim says:

    Also, a black hole image has been captured for the first time 😉