Daniel Lemire's blog

, 3 min read

A look back to my 2010 predictions for 2020

3 thoughts on “A look back to my 2010 predictions for 2020”

  1. Peter says:

    I’m in the same boat as you, do most of my work in C/C++, Java, but instead of Python, I use R (so for both I’m mainly interested in only the libraries, so R wins out here for me; and we all know so many of the libraries for both are written in C/C++). I’ve recently taken an interest in Rust and Julia. You left Julia out of your blog, so I’m curious about your thoughts. I’m mostly interested in scientific programming, specifically of the statistical kind. Overall, I use what language works best for each scenario, and my methods I publish are increasingly comprised of multiple languages. Also, hello from Montreal!

    1. Julia came out in 2012, so I should have included it!!! Thanks for pointing it out.

  2. Yakov says:

    You can safely predict (read: extrapolate) that immature things will mature, like having a larger scale data crunching libraries, or a bit more memory.
    What is already mature, like C++, is only getting more fashionable wrapping. So can extrapolate, but really, it’s the end of the curve.
    Things that are completely new, you cannot predict. No curve to extrapolate.
    I predict that in 10 years, we’ll have more fusion of big data with machine learning applied to everyday life.
    Me: Bot, please remind me to get potatoes next time I’m in the supermarket with the car.
    Bot: The shopping list is fairly long already. How ’bout I order it all now?