Daniel Lemire's blog

, 2 min read

Science and Technology links (December 14th 2019)

3 thoughts on “Science and Technology links (December 14th 2019)”

  1. Jamie_NYC says:

    Sorry to be a wet blanket about 5) Alzheimer’s drug, but this is a monoclonal antibody that is supposed to clear up the amyloid – the same approach that has failed dozens of times. If your drug only ‘works’ in the highest dose (no dose-response effect), and then it only slows down the disease somewhat, you are not treating the disease, you are treating the symptoms.

    There is a promising approach that is completely novel, from Leucadia Therapeutics (I’m not associated with them in any way): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sydpGol7CcA&list=LLbxgTiFNmrOTutfscry7HYg&index=22&t=0s .

    1. I think my wording was careful. I don’t expect that we have a cure.

  2. KK says:

    I subscribed for the in depth benchmarking and performance posts, but stayed for those link collections.

    So I just wanted to say I appreciate your blog and the wonderful mix of topics 👏