Daniel Lemire's blog

, 18 min read

Thoughts on my new laptop (Dell XPS 13 with Windows 10)

23 thoughts on “Thoughts on my new laptop (Dell XPS 13 with Windows 10)”

  1. Federico says:
  2. trylks says:

    Had I read this before, maybe I would not have purchased the Inspiron I got (7566). I still have to find a brand with good quality/price ratio, though (maybe I just need more money). I’m particularly concerned about durability and thermal management (this was a big factor in my decision, still need to check in summer).

    In my case, the requirements are different. A server or a desktop would have a significant cost, and so I want a laptop that can handle significant workloads, before I need to move to something more powerful (and pay for it). Desktop+laptop is always better, but as usual, better means more expensive. Sometimes cheap means expensive, I hope I didn’t make that mistake.

    1. Desktop+laptop is always better, but as usual, better means more expensive.

      It is crazily expensive to have lots of compute power in a laptop, but much cheaper in standard PC format.

  3. Tim says:

    The XPS is what Dell sells to people who don’t *really* care about their machine but want something that looks cool and is reasonably fast. Dell mobile workstations cost a bit more but the build quality is better and they have higher end options (more RAM, newer components, etc) to choose from. I looked at quite a few machines before settling on a Dell M3800 a couple of years ago and it’s still a power mad beast.

    1. I looked at quite a few machines before settling on a Dell M3800 a couple of years ago and it’s still a power mad beast.

      It is a larger, heavier and probably noisier machine than an XPS 13.

      I have owned powerful and heavy laptops in the past. I had them in addition to thinner and lighter laptops, and I know from experience that I prefer the latter.

  4. I look forward to the Samsung Chromebook Plus or Pro, with Linux (via routon) installed. Right now I have that on my aging Chromebook 2, but it is still my go-to computer unless I want real horsepower (and then I ssh into a server).

    1. I look forward to the Samsung Chromebook Plus or Pro, with Linux (via routon) installed. Right now I have that on my aging Chromebook 2, but it is still my go-to computer unless I want real horsepower (and then I ssh into a server).

      I still own a Chromebook and there is a lot of to like. I have not tried to install Linux on it. I like Linux, but I like it on servers.

      1. Llogiq says:

        As another Chromebook owner (but as my primary computing device), I can tell you there’s much to like in current desktop Linux.

        1. As another Chromebook owner (but as my primary computing device), I can tell you there’s much to like in current desktop Linux.

          When Linux works, it does offer a great desktop experience. But it is all the little things that do not quite work that get to me. The faulty standby mode, the trouble getting the right drivers and so forth. For example, people still stumble on this post of mine from 2005… http://lemire.me/blog/2005/09/28/strange-kde-bug-cant-resize-or-move-windows/ The issue has still not been resolved, despite being around for over ten years.

          I should point out that I work with Linux every day… but not as a desktop environment.

  5. ” I love computers. Unlike many people … ”

    This phrase could use a bit of work. 🙂

    (Sorry. the back of my mind tends to be irrelevant.)

    1. Seems to me that no matter how you read it, it is pretty accurate. 😉

  6. Robert Zeh says:

    The bash shell for Windows 10 has one major short coming for emacs users: it doesn’t forward Control-Space.
    I have Windows 10 on a new Acer laptop, and I’ve noticed the same thing about the ads.

  7. Marcel says:

    > Maybe I am crazy, or maybe my machine was hacked, but it feels like Microsoft is showing me ads?

    I won’t claim you’re not crazy – but having ads in Win 10 is not in indication that you are. There are all kinds of ads (and tracking) in Win 10 – other that crap it’s actually a fairly decent OS.

    There are numerous tools developed to disable the various tracking features (http://bgr.com/2015/08/14/windows-10-spying-prevention-privacy-tools/) – although don’t know how trust-worthy any of them are. For example the “DoNotSpy 10” one on that list seems to install its own ads – so seems to defeat the purpose to me. Haven’t researched them enough to have one to recommend.

    http://www.windowscentral.com/how-remove-advertising-windows-10 – that page shows you how to disable several sources of ads that have configuration options built into windows.

  8. Justin says:

    I find the “two-finger” scroll gesture handy to scroll web pages.

  9. Michael Bisbjerg says:

    > The Windows Subsystem for Linux really does work. [..]

    To add on that. I can recommend adding a “Bash Here” context menu in the registry, so you can Shift+RightClick any folder and open a bash shell there. I have the necessary registry file here:

    https://gist.github.com/LordMike/5d7036bae1d8f76252985873a6601206

    > I find it unacceptably hard to grab a Window and move [..]

    I did so too. Then I saw the alt-dragging features in Ubuntu/Linux, and wanted the same. Luckily, this guy (https://stefansundin.github.io/altdrag/) created a tool for Windows that does the same. I configure it to start on logon, and change the keys from “Left Alt” and “Right Alt” to only “Left Windows key”, as I find that “Alt” has a number of other functions which interfere.

    I can now hold the left Windows key, and then drag or resize any window using my mouse, by clicking anywhere on the window itself.

    > Though the Windows Subsystem for Linux works well, it is poorly integrated into Windows [..] run different file systems {..].

    All drives available to Windows are mounted on /mnt/. Is this what you meant?

    1. All drives available to Windows are mounted on /mnt/. Is this what you meant?

      I don’t know exactly what is going on under the hood, but it is my impression that it is not safe to read/write files from both Windows and Windows Subsystem for Linux.

      1. Michael Bisbjerg says:

        Ok. It /was/ my impression that the linux subsystem simply called Win32 API’s behind the scenes.. I checked with Sysinternals Procmon for changes in a specific folder, and did _not_ see an event when I f.ex. ran “touch test”.

        I can see why someone would think it could be an issue. If we’re not calling Win32, then all bets are off. 😐

        1. Michael Bisbjerg says:

          Ok. So I got curious and checked it out. I found this very informative blog post.

          https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/wsl/2016/06/15/wsl-file-system-support/

          To answer your question. You must /not/ alter files in the special Bash root folder (%LocalAppData%\lxss\*), as the WSL (Windows Subsystem for Linux) will put special properties on files there (using NTFS EA attributes).

          However. Files on /mnt/c (etc.) are handled by Windows itself. So these special properties are *not* used, and files therefore “work as they use to”. The tl;dr can be found by looking at the two sectios named “Interoperability with Windows” under VolFs and DrvFs respectively.

          VolFs is the linux-specific filesystems which uses special properties in Windows, used for /root, /home, /etc and so on. It represents a filesystem stored in the Windows users Appdata folder.

          DrvFs is the compatibility layer/driver that mounts the Windows drives (C:, D: etc..) under /mnt/ in Bash.

          1. Thanks. So I think that what I wrote is reasonably accurate:

            You can’t (or shouldn’t) edit Linux files using your Windows text editor. The two systems run different file systems and there are (apparently) synchronization issues. This is probably fine.

            It is a negative, but not a major limitation. Moreover, there may be a way to overcome it in the future.

  10. David Galloway says:

    SSD are solid state so should make no noise. Here are my ideas: Your SSD power draw could fluctuate with read/write operations. Motherboard inductors, if they are not rigidly sealed can make a sound that might vary with load. Alternatively if the laptop has a speaker, then it could be possible that some crosstalk with the SSD creates noise in the audio output.

    1. I don’t think that the speakers are guilty.

  11. shiva says:

    I agree with your thoughts.Thanks for the info.

  12. Sushant says:

    Dell offers good laptops but are also packed with lot of bloatware when used for the first time. After using Dell vostro laptop for around 2 years, I have recently switched to Asus. I must say the quality and build of the Dell laptops is superior but so the weight of the machine. In the end, it all depends on our preference. Nice review of the xps machine btw.