Daniel Lemire's blog

, 4 min read

The dystopia you should fear

6 thoughts on “The dystopia you should fear”

  1. John Kerr says:

    Yes I was afraid of this when they started talking about us living longer. And I thought, if I become a teenager again at 113 will I have to suffer through zits again? Looks like I will.

  2. @John Kerr

    I’m afraid it would have to work this way. Something about thermodynamics… mumble… mumble…

  3. Ben says:

    A couple the items on your list touch on an issue that I expect to cause a huge amount of pain in the near to medium term. The embedded systems subculture within software engineering has long been somewhat isolated from the mainstream. On one hand, embedded systems have to deal with very tricky timing and physical world interactions. On the other hand, until very recently they have mostly been “air gapped”, so the modicum of attack hardening that a lot of software has received is missing in a lot of embedded software.

    Jeff Atwood had a nice related post on the “internet of compromised things” recently. I plan to avoid internet-connected embedded widgets as much as I can for the foreseeable future.

  4. Mihai says:

    Your kid not living up to your expectations seems to be caused by bad parenting, not modern technology.

  5. @Mihai

    Who said we are going to get good parenting?

  6. trylks says:

    1% of the people live in the future and do not need to work, the machines that they own do everything. 99% of the people live in the past, they have to compete with machines and 10 billion people for a salary that is just enough to stay alive, this includes all sectors (education is free, to have competition at all levels) except mass media (actors, singers, etc.)