Daniel Lemire's blog

, 6 min read

My predictions for 2040

10 thoughts on “My predictions for 2040”

  1. Dude says:

    I wish what you are saying come true, or better version.

  2. Mark Van Peteghem says:

    What kind of IQ-boosters are you thinking of? Actually Ritalin and Adderall are IQ-boosters, even for people who don’t need them otherwise. I’ve heard of people with ADHD who take them to get through secondary school, but after that study something for which they feel they don’t need these meds, because they find them unnatural.

    Of course this may be just a matter of society getting used to the idea of doing that.

  3. @Mark

    For many of my “predictions”, we already have some or all of the technology already available. That’s unavoidable, of course.

  4. T says:

    “Lots of people will be ugly… (Sorry)”

    L.M.F.A.O.

    In all seriousness, I did enjoy your article. I’d like to believe cancer will be cured though, because I’m a survivor.

    1. Yes, I think that there is a chance we might cure cancer soon, but it is a very complicated disease that has natural selection on its side.

  5. K says:

    I hate saying this but i think that by 2040 we will have atleast one global mega-pandemic that will wipe out atleast 75% of the world’s population (ofcourse caused by a pathogen for which we wont be having a cure at that time). Even more people will die in developing countries.

    There are simply too many people in the world and by 2035 we will have a huge unemployment crises that will make the world unstable for everybody. We wont be able to do anything about it as it will be worldwide. Nature will step in and do it for us.

    1. Nate says:

      well u weren’t wrong abt the pandemic except it wasn’t 75% of the population

  6. K says:

    I guess i should not have said ‘nature will do it for us’ as if its a good thing. People dying is never good, for whatever reason.

  7. T4v1 says:

    Why do you use (sorry) so much? In the last bullet point you use it 7 times. It is your prediction not your responsablity to fix anything.

  8. Ron says:

    I hopefully predict that you’ll stop using “sorry” for absolutely everything because you’ll have read this comment.