Daniel Lemire's blog

, 6 min read

Why I never give straight answers

8 thoughts on “Why I never give straight answers”

  1. Anthony says:

    Well, I do agree your viewpoints. However, I think the root cause of the problem is NOT the students themselves. In fact, the nowadays education systems and teachers are the producers. “It is rather to teach a person how to fish than just give him a fish!!” How many teachers wish to spend tons of time to guide their students through every single step to solve a problem? Particularly under those exam-oriented education systems. And please remember, not everybody is a genius. The most important responsibility of a teacher is to “Teach”.

  2. @Anthony

    I don’t think teachers should be there through every single step. It would be entirely counterproductive. You can, however, give examples.

  3. Doug says:

    I agree with you wholeheartedly. I teach most effectively to people who learn like I do, which is to figure things out having been pointed in the right general direction. But as an occasional adjunct professor, I have had to learn to teach students who learn by watching me do the work at least once. But in both cases, my goal is not to make them learn the material (only they can learn it themselves, I can’t “make” them do anything) but to help them to learn how they learn best. That is the only non-perishable thing a teacher can actually develop in a student.

  4. Enrique Alegre says:

    I completely agree with you. I think you just have rediscovered the Socratic method. Best

  5. Tomas says:

    As a TA, I had a defensive pose which was generally to lead the student to the solution, but they have to do the stepping. Oh, and giving up is not allowed. You WILL leave this office KNOWING how the answer is derived.

    After their first try, not a whole lot of them showed up again, and those who did, were a pleasure to work with. They wanted to KNOW.

  6. Asking to see a student’s code, or a sketch of a data structure, is another effective approach. Then I can ask them to explain it to me. Sometimes, the explanation jiggles their brain enough that they see the answer they need. Other times, we find out something they really don’t understand.

  7. @Eugene Wallingford

    If it is a programming assignment, I would definitively be tempted to ask to see the source code. And, indeed, it might be enough to get the student going.

  8. Francois Rivest says:

    You are so right on this one, I can`t agree more. We’ve became so good at explaining, that students don`t need to know how to learn anymore.