Daniel Lemire's blog

, 4 min read

It is what you do, not what you own

7 thoughts on “It is what you do, not what you own”

  1. @phil Yes, I want to build an arduino-powered boat. There a few issues though. One challenge is that water is bad for your electronics. Another is that if it is a sailboat, you need to make it very clever otherwise, it will always get stuck… and cleverness requires much testing… this takes time. So maybe it is easier to start with a motor boat, but this leaves you with one last issue… you still need a remote if only to call the boat back. So you need to hack a remote over your arduino… I don’t know how to do it.

    On the plus side, someone could make money selling kits for building RC models with an arduino.

    @Michele That is right. I’m the guy in the back.

  2. Greg Linster says:

    Great post! My inner economist often reminds me that for a great many things, it’s wiser to rent than to own. It’s easy to forget that doing things is more fun than owning things.

  3. phil jones says:

    Have you looked into autonomous boats / aquatic bots? There’s a small boating pond round the corner from where I live and I’m wondering about its possibilities for some kind of small-scale robo-regatta.

    I’m thinking Arduino controlled, maybe solar-powered. Or perhaps even sailed.

  4. Michele Filannino says:

    Are you the fourth from the left? 🙂

  5. Michele Filannino says:

    You’re perfectly right!

  6. Ben says:

    Really enjoyed this post—thanks.

  7. Marcel says:

    Its a process … For everybody