Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

Write a Twitter application in 5 minutes

I spend much time alone, writing and thinking. Twitter helps me stay connected. I love the platform.

On Friday, I wanted to find the intersection between the users followed by any two individuals. Indeed, suppose that you like both Joe and Jill, and they have similar interests. Maybe whoever they both read is also interesting? I could not find a tool to do it, so I built it with python-twitter.

Anybody with a working knowledge of Python can do it in less than 5 minutes. I used only twenty lines of code (in total!!!). The code proved immediately useful.

If you do not know Python or Ruby. Learn one or the other. Tonight. It is powerful stuff.

Update: A few days after I wrote this post, Twitter made my script obsolete by changing their authentification requirements.