Daniel Lemire's blog

, 7 min read

What I like about my job

10 thoughts on “What I like about my job”

  1. John says:

    My favorite part of your post was your list of things that didn’t come up.

    Your remarks about prestige remind of this essay by Paul Graham.

    Similarly, if you admire two kinds of work equally, but one is more prestigious, you should probably choose the other. Your opinions about what’s admirable are always going to be slightly influenced by prestige, so if the two seem equal to you, you probably have more genuine admiration for the less prestigious one.

    Also, I wonder how much academic freedom academics have anyway. Their freedom is limited by what they can get grants to pay for and what their peers will approve in publication. They may be able to offend the general public, but they dare not offend their peers.

  2. Thanks again for sharing your insights with us “listeners”. I could only nod my head while reading. Hopefully I become professor once.

  3. @John Thanks for the Paul Graham quote. I entirely agree with him.

    I think freedom is a difficult concept. It is not all black and white. You are not either free or a slave. There are different types of freedom.

  4. paurullan says:

    Thanks for the insight.

    On the prestige, here at the UIB you have a mixed bag: professors that are so full of themselves but always give shitty classes and gorgeous professors that don’t mind having a beer after classes.

  5. Interesting that you hate going to your office. It’s quite the opposite with me. I hate working from home except when I have to (it’s good to have the freedom to choose of course). There are *so* many other things to get distracted with at home whereas at the office I can usually concentrate quite well. As for the coffee, I just bring mine in a thermos.

  6. @Vellino

    Not everyone disagrees with me regarding the productivity of the typical workplace :

    http://lifehacker.com/5514934/the-case-for-ignoring-people-at-work

  7. Preko says:

    Great post.
    I just feel the closing question is a bit unfair. Usually my answer would be no, like now when I am reading blogs, but this gives me the breadth of view, not just a converging line of ideas.
    I think it is crucial for research.

  8. Nicolas says:

    As a new assistant professor, I like the same things as you. What I currently really dislike is how overbooked I am (or maybe just feel). Starting everything (teaching and research) is really, really hard. Maybe it’s an organization problem, and you get used to it, as my tenured colleagues seem to be quite relaxed…

    For now, working in my office is ok. I really like the flexibility, and already come to the office later than anyone else, which shifts my whole day, so I also enjoy a quiet environment after 5pm.

    I liked your insight on things that did not come up and I think I agree.

  9. @Timmyson

    Good point.

  10. Timmyson says:

    There was an interesting interview on CBC’s Spark related to this. They talk about creative motivation beyond money (but having enough money is an important prerequisite).
    http://www.cbc.ca/spark/2010/04/full-interview-daniel-pink-on-motivation-3-0/