Daniel Lemire's blog

, 4 min read

Why I am not publishing in PLoS One, yet

6 thoughts on “Why I am not publishing in PLoS One, yet”

  1. Francois Rivest says:

    What I really like about PLOS, is the fact that comments can be attached to a published document. There is a lot of post-publication knowledge lost about papers. Many readers may have useful comments, but those will never be published. In PLOS One, reviews are somewhat done after publication and are public. The only limit right now, is that most scientists are still unlikely to write their comments there….

    What would be great, is to complement it with citation track that could also cumulated comments from other sources (blog, paper citing it, etc..)

  2. Sylvie Noel says:

    Last time I checked PLoS, there wasn’t really a place for human factors papers yet, so I’m still waiting before I turn to them for publication.

  3. @Rivest I think people have an incentive to comment publicly on papers within their field. That’s why people make an effort to ask questions during conferences (sometimes).

    @Noel Yes, if they want our papers, they need to make an effort so that we feel welcome. Right now, it looks like a private club for biology and medicine. Which is fine, if that is their goal.

  4. I always wondered about the word “science”? Does that mean only hard sciences? I’m in “social science”… is that science? Will PlOS eventually launch a journal of sociology, of education, of anthro?

    If not – that’s fine… I’m just curious.

  5. Benjamin Geer says:

    @Stian someone should try submitting a social science paper to PLoS One just to see what happens.

  6. iris says:

    I still wonder how can we know that a journal is prestigious?