Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

Netflix competition is over?

The Netflix competition is a $1 million research competition to improve the Netflix movie recommender system by 10%. A large team called BellKor’s Pragmatic Chaos just announced that they won (update: unless someone can beat them in the next month). Among them is Yehuda Koren with whom I organized the 2nd Netflix-KDD Workshop and also some engineers from my home town (Piotte and Chabbert). I do not know how they will split the money, but I suspect each one of them will get at least 100k$. I want a study on the benefits of this new technology on the Netflix users.

Reference: See my older posts Proceedings of the Large-Scale Recommender Systems workshop and Netflix: an interesting Machine Learning game, but is it good science?