Daniel Lemire's blog

, 14 min read

Promoted to full professor

25 thoughts on “Promoted to full professor”

  1. @Christan There is nothing next. That’s the whole point! You either change job (leave your professorship), retire or die.

    I can finally stop showering in the morning. Good bye my tooth brush. And I no longer need to make sense (not that I ever did). I’ll also never get another hair cut. Within five years, I’ll look like a smelly bear. I’ll be extremely rude to everyone, and lazy as a mushroom.

    (I am kidding, of course. I will still shower in the morning.)

  2. John says:

    Congratulations!

  3. Sylvie says:

    Wow, congratulations! You no longer have to do any work any more 🙂

  4. Will says:

    Congrats, Daniel.

  5. Ragib Hasan says:

    Congratulations 🙂

  6. Neil Conway says:

    Congratulations!

  7. Christan Grant says:

    Congrats!! Now what’s next?

  8. Ben says:

    Congrats!!

  9. Shahzad Khan says:

    Congratulations! This is great news. 🙂

  10. Congratulations / félicitations! I’m glad you’re keep showering–you don’t want to be a rank full professor!

  11. Pavan Yara says:

    Congrats Professor!!

    I hope many more accolades are on your way.

  12. Pardis says:

    Congratulations!!

    The conversation with your mother was interesting 😉

  13. Janet Clarey says:

    Congratulations. Your Mom’s response is priceless…they always want to know you’re doing OK don’t they?

  14. Hi Professor Daniel Lemire, Congratulations to you and your mum. She must be very proud of you – so happy that she couldn’t express them in words – and that you are so rich now. Your sense of humour just shine. I love Maths too…promotion + love from your mum and your family = happiness. Does it sound right? Wonderful to hear such happy news from you.

  15. Nicholas says:

    Congratulations indeed!

    So now you can finally start a career as a full time blogger 🙂

    (…kidding of course)

  16. Felicitations! Those who read your blog won’t notice whether you’ve showered or not.

  17. Kevembuangga says:

    Hé, hé, hé…
    Now, HOW will you justify any kind of effort?
    Still, don’t forget to “save the world” I guess your wife will appreciate 🙂

  18. @Christan What’s next? World Domination, of course! 🙂

    Congratulations, Daniel!

  19. Steven says:

    Congratulations! I thought you were a bit young to be getting to full professor?

  20. John Dupuis says:

    Congratulations!

    “I’ll also never get another hair cut. Within five years, I’ll look like a smelly bear. I’ll be extremely rude to everyone, and lazy as a mushroom.”

    Ah, the flashbacks to my undergrad years! That describes about 50% of my old CS profs.

  21. Bernhard says:

    Congratulations, I think it is exciting to see when the full academic career path works out for someone!

    Especially since now you can pursue new that might be risky or uncertain but you have nothing to lose 🙂

    Awesome job!

  22. Congrats!

  23. Anonymous says:

    congratulations!

  24. Congratulations!

  25. Jo Vermeulen says:

    Congrats!