Daniel Lemire's blog

, 3 min read

Are your research papers telling original stories?

5 thoughts on “Are your research papers telling original stories?”

  1. Vinod Khare says:

    Not only in computer science, but most engineering fields seem to be saturated with papers of the same kind. I’m a young researcher and having grown up on a steady diet of such stories, I can’t seem to remember any other kinds. Can you give examples of some rememberable papers that you think don’t belong to this category?

  2. Ali Shams says:

    Most papers I read in social science are exactly the same but there are few that do not and those remain alive even after a hundred years. Paper’s are yet another literary form…

  3. kara says:

    First of all Nothing can be 100% original.

    But there are something that are innovative, such as P2P networks,Grid network,etc.

  4. Balint says:

    I feel the same way about the “standard story” in computer science papers. Similarly like Vinod, I would love to see an example of an original paper. Does anyone have a tip?

  5. JK says:

    I don’t think I agree. While papers written in this format may be boring to read, they also tend to be easy to understand. I’d rather have that than papers that are exciting and splashy but force the reader to figure out the exact contribution.