Daniel Lemire's blog

, 4 min read

If you could only write one more research paper…

7 thoughts on “If you could only write one more research paper…”

  1. Vladimir Nesov says:

    If I had one year to live, I’d spend less time studying deep stuff that I don’t expect to usefully understand for some time to come, and as a result if I nonetheless live longer I’ll understand less and won’t be able to make contributions that I could make otherwise.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Because I am far away from tenure 🙂
    And I need less risk and more output. This implies that the paper I would like to do is more uncertain regarding output.

  3. Delip Rao says:

    If I knew what I would write in my one-last-research-paper I would have written it (long ago).

  4. > If you could only write one more research paper…

    I’d write a very long one. A very very long one. Which I have, btw, started.

  5. Alberto Rozenfarb says:

    I agree with your challenge, and I learned to be an researcher at 65 and Im preparing a paper about the “Impact of Business Intelligence in decision making processes”.
    If this subject interest you, please, let me know and I will send you a copy to publish it or spred my point of view.

  6. Tim says:

    Because I’m reading your blog!

  7. Francois Rivest says:

    I think this is a very, very good suggestion. Especially since one year is neither too short, nor too long, so it allows a carefull selection of topic.