Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

Where are the academic podcasts?

This blog is also a podcast. Few people notice. I have not posted any audio in months. (If you have never listened to me: I am better at writing English than at speaking it.)

Where are the good academic/research podcasts? What I found so far fitted in these categories:

  • Promotional material for schools or research centers.
  • Capture of audio/video events (such as lectures).

I have never liked lectures. I was the kind of student to never pay any attention in class. Some live talks are good, but most are not.

Podcasting is different however because it can be edited afterhand. You can cut the parts where you are rambling. You can redo part of the podcast if the first take was not good.

But where are the researchers producing good podcasts?