Daniel Lemire's blog

, 2 min read

My low-tech research tools

2 thoughts on “My low-tech research tools”

  1. Preko says:

    I use Moleskine as a notebook. Not cheap, but I was in love at first sight. 🙂
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moleskine

  2. Jason Adams says:

    I use a Moleskine like Preko. I hold onto them when they are used up, because sometimes it’s fun to look back and see what a graphomaniac I can be. I also prefer graph paper lines since I tend to write at an angle without lined reminders. I use pencil, so I can erase misspellings, but if the mistake is anything other than a “typo”, I think the best practice is to just strike it out. Something learned from 10th grade chemistry I still actually use.

    I have tried a number of online and digital tools for the same purpose as the notebook, but nothing can beat the convenience of it (even a PDA, back when those were in vogue). Maybe one day we’ll have portable computers as easy to write on as pen and paper. I wonder if I’ll switch.