Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

I still don´t have the multiplication tables memorized

I read this on slashdot:

I have a PhD in math, and I still don’t have the multiplication tables memorized

Now I know I am not the only one!

In other news,

  • I still deduce my age from my birth date (takes me a minute or so each time);
  • I was identified as having a learning disability when I entered school (since I could not recite my phone number nor tie my shoes) and put in a special class;
  • I still don’t know my office phone number;
  • I don’t know my bank account number, nor how much money there is in it;
  • I don’t know my Social Insurance Number;
  • I get the birthdays of my sons mixed up.

But I know what a soliton is, I can solve nonlinear differential equations by multiscale methods, and I can program my very own bitmap index from scratch in C++. Oh! and I can grow coreopsis and echinacea from seeds.

Let us face it: the purpose of school should not be to teach specifics. And you should never judge kids by what you expect them to achieve. Let them surprise you!