Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

The ten-minute rule for presentations

Mike gives us 3 rules to improve our presentations. Two of the rules I knew: you have to practice and you should present pictures, not text, on your slides. The other rule is the 10-minute rule: you have to insert a break in your presentation every 10 minutes to refresh the audience.

I must admit that I am really bad at attending presentations. I usually fall asleep within 5 minutes. But, at least, if you try to start fresh every 10 minutes, you may catch me when I randomly wake up. But do not mind me: I must be an outlier. For one thing, I really prefer to read your papers rather than listen to a 50-minute talk. I have this strange belief that lectures are leftovers from an era when paper and ink were expensive. But, yes, I know that talks reach many people who would not otherwise read the papers.