Daniel Lemire's blog

, 3 min read

Even a tiny amount of beer makes you less productive?

5 thoughts on “Even a tiny amount of beer makes you less productive?”

  1. Eran says:

    The research follows my own experience. Beer is not good for science, mainly after 9pm. It just makes you sleepy. However, I found doses of Whiskey or Grappa, to be much more useful to a scientist.

  2. Whiskey has more alcohol: surely, it is worse than beer?

  3. Eran says:

    I don’t know, Maybe the amount of Alcohol is not the important variable here?

  4. Jason Adams says:

    I have managed to reproduce these results outside of the lab. The real achievement here was getting funding, since I’ve always had to self-fund my own projects in this area.

  5. allan isfan says:

    It think it depends what you are trying to be productive at. When trying to enter a hyper creative state or solve a tough problem, a doze of beer can relax and really help the creative juices. I have found drambuie to also be effective. Getting on a treadmill or going for a run also works … but not so well after a beer 🙂