Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

Why forbid derivative work?

The Creative Commons licenses can forbid derivative work and Perl is published under the artistic license which also forbids derivative work. Just to be clear, derivative work include revisions, annotations, and elaborations. In other words, if you publish an article on your web site and forbid derivate work, then one cannot publish an annotated version of your work. So, I thought about it. And then I thought about it some more. And I cannot figure out why anyone would want to make their work freely available but forbid others from annotating it, for example.

Can you help me? Any good reasons to be so restrictive? To be clear, I am thinking about people allowing me to reproduce their work, but not annotate it. (Source: I was having a discussion with Stephen Downes when this thought came to me.)