Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

Order pocket notebooks in Canada

Turns out that ditching my PDA is harder than I thought. After spending over an hour at the local Staples, it turns out that there is no market for pocket notebooks. I want something I can keep in my pocket without looking like an idiot. It needs to be elegant, because I am not eager to look like a nerd. All I could find were cheap notebooks from China. I own one that looks good, but the pages are falling off and the paper is too cheap.

Someone had suggested Moleskine notebooks, and they do look cool, but I could not find a way to order them cheaply in Canada. Ciak pocket journals are another alternative, but again, no luck in figuring out how to order them. I was also a bit upset to learn that the true Moleskine notebooks, out of Tour in France, are no longer made and all you buy are copies from a company that has had nothing to do with the original notebooks. So maybe people are falling prey to marketing? It may sound cool to think that famous writers used the same notebooks you are buying, except that they are not.

Happily, there is a company in Vancouver called paperblanks producing beautiful notebooks and journals. To top it off, you can order their product cheaply on Chapters/Indigo. I will let you know how they are once they arrive. Here is what it should look like: