Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

Babylon 5: The Lost Tales – Voices In The Dark

We got the latest Babylon 5 DVD (The Lost Tales – Voices In The Dark). It is not a secret that I am a big scifi fan. Babylon 5 was a turning point in adult scifi. For this reason alone, I had to preorder the DVD. According to the Amazon web page, the DVD still ranks in 8th position with respect to sales and the reviews are overwhelmingly positive (but cautious).

I agree with Jay Barnson: I’m really hoping to see more. It was a low budget movie. Yes, the special effects (CGI) have improved over the years, but the movie is thin on the number of actors and decor. I did not buy into the first part of the movie at all, mostly because I have never been a fan of the character of Elizabeth Lochley. The second part, with Sheridan is more interesting. But where is Londo? Also, the dark backgrounds were clearly meant to save money.

The studio will have to increase the budget for the next DVDs. You need actors to make a good show. However, this is Babylon 5 and if you liked the show, this is still a must-have.