Daniel Lemire's blog

, 2 min read

Got XFig to run under Mac OS X in less than an hour

Using only knowledge gathered based on my previous posts, I’m happy to report that I was able to get XFig running under Mac OS X in less than an hour thanks to the magic of Fink.

So far, my most difficult task has been to get used to yet-another-crazy-keyboard-layout and to get my HP Laserjet 1012 running. Turns out that Apple does not support the HP Laserjet 1012 printer through a Windows share, for some odd reason. Downloading the cups PPD for the HP 1010 printer and installing it manually didn’t help. The workaround was to actually use the same printer, still connected to a Windows box, but this time, shared by my Linux box (if you are lost at this point, sorry), as a generic postscript printer. It is a bit crazy, but it works.

Now, the machine is compiling KDE. I’ll probably only know if it worked tomorrow. This time, I’m trying to follow the instructions found on Fink’s web site so I might have better luck than my previous attempts.

I’ve also found this great list of open source software for Macs on nothickmanuals.org.

I might also try to update Apple’s X11 before trying to run OpenOffice, this time.

See also my posts My favorite MacOS applications, PDFView is dead, vive Skim! and I have had it with Firefox under MacOS.

Subscribe to this blog
in a reader
or by Email.