Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

Looking for an all-recording plug-in for Firefox

Dear reader,

I’m looking to record everything I ever browse on the Web using Firefox. That is right. I want a copy of every single document, Web page, query, and so on, I ever encounter. I also want to record the content of every single form I submit. The result should be adequately protected so that it is not possible to have access to the data without access to my machine. It would be akin to the wayback machine except that it would cover only the stuff I have seen. I have not yet decided whether it should record all the youtube videos I watch, but I guess it should.

Ideally, it should be able write the data on a portable disk. Why do I want to do this? Why not. Actually, I would then want to use this data to build a fancy database that would support things like drill-down or roll-up queries (Ã la OLAP). If you know how to build this, want to help, or know of such a plug-in, please drop me a line.

I’m also running a competition to decide how to call such a thing. I initially thought about calling it a webex but it turns out that’s a trademark. Then I decided that Hammerspace might be a better name, or maybe Magic Satchel? What do you think?