Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

Better email notifications in subversion

Subversion is a great version control tool, but the scripts that accompany it are still immature. One of them, commit-email.pl is particularly bad. It goes on and on for hundreds of lines, and the end result is very poor usability. Earlier tonight, I found a better solution on the Web with color and all, then I fixed it. But I can’t figure out who I stole this from. In any case, here is my fixed commit-email.rb (run gunzip on it first). You may have to change the first line. To activate the script, edit the post-commit file of you repository (or create it from post-commit.tmpl) and make sure you have the following:


REPOS="$1"
REV="$2"
./commit-email.rb "$REPOS" "$REV"

where “commit-email.rb” is located in the same directory as “post-commit”.