Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

Can you infer tags from text?

The buzz is all about tags these days. Tagyu is an interesting tool which claims to suggest tags based on the text content of the page. I’d like to see a description of the algorithm, but I see none.

It seems like the tags for my blog make sense, but the tags for my home pages (French and English) are really bad. Tagging my French home page with “france”? Maybe because I use the French language? It is a bit of a stretch. Tagging my English home page with “job”? No. I don’t think so.

The problem is interesting and I bet there are solid solutions, but we are not there yet.

I also question whether collaborative tags have a future. I must admit I don’t use them, so I won’t comment much further, but it is a bit too empirical for my taste.