Daniel Lemire's blog

, 3 min read

Firefox 1.0.7: better memory management?

4 thoughts on “Firefox 1.0.7: better memory management?”

  1. Ben says:

    I updated my Firefox to 1.0.7 for about 1 month, but I don’t see anything better. I still have to close it from time to time.

  2. Interesting Ben. We’ll see how it goes, but the day is almost over, and I haven’t seen the very damaging leaks I see usually.

    The thing is, with gentoo… they may be applying some patches on top of the official release.

  3. Luzian says:

    I have the same problems with 1.0.7 that I haved with previous versions. I use a lot of tabs, and with every tab the memory use of Firefox increases (obviously). But when I close most tabs, it doesn’t seem to release the memory. Also when memory use is high enough, sometimes Firefox uses 97-99% CPU permanently. Sometimes the process doesn’t stop when I close the browser, and I have to kill it.
    I really hope all this will be fixed sometime!
    (This refers to Firefox on Win XP Pro on a Notebook with 1.5GHz Pentium Centrino and 768MB Memory)

  4. Anonymous says:

    The reason i like firefox is because it’s EASILY flexible, extendable, configureble, usable, but the thing is that it uses a LOT of memory (it once reached 1GB of memory consumption omfg).

    Opera is very fast, but lacks all the features i mentioned for firefox above. It doesn’t have easy-to-find-and-install extensions like superdragngo, html tidy, tab plus mix etc. It’s not easily customizable in various aspects (mouse gesture, additional tab functions, etc)