Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

Battlestar Galactica: when AI goes wrong

One thought on “Battlestar Galactica: when AI goes wrong”

  1. Marcel says:

    I also recently purchased Battlestar Galactica season 1 – haven’t quite finished watching it yet – 3 episodes left I think. I hadn’t really drawn the parallel between the humans in BSG and Americans as you did here, but now that you mention it, it does really seem to come through.

    One thing that I also thought to be kind of intersting with the story is that the cylons believe in God, while most of the humans do not; wasn’t really the way I would expected that to play out with respect to artifically intelligent man-made beings.

    As for hard AI being a bad thing, and if we ever get close to that point we should stop – I’m with you on that. Wasn’t BSG that convinced me of that though – I blame that one of the first matrix movie.