Daniel Lemire's blog

, 6 min read

Are you an IT-empower worker or an old school worker?

6 thoughts on “Are you an IT-empower worker or an old school worker?”

  1. didier says:

    I try to keep the number of feeds I read under 100. Beyond that, I just can’t justify spending more than 2 hours reading stuff. I’ve recently read something about blog-induced ADD (http://techdirt.com/articles/20050328/1051222_F.shtml), so I’m wondering if you’re suffering from that 😉 .

    It’s funny how most of the time is spent reading stuff. I read somewhere that the blog-world is made of more readers than writers and I find that to be more and more accurate.

  • Marshall says:

    I presume you know about new developments in your field more rapidly and consistantly than old-schoolers (especially if you read RSS feeds)
    You have greater flexibility of choices amongst contacts to ask for help or perspective.
    You are probably a person in your wide community that others can look to for K-resources. You are obviously more excited about sharing than hording, thus making you a fundamentally different actor in the field.

    But I bet you’ve still got far more to read than you possibly can get through. Perhaps it’s a blessing, like too much good food to eat or to many friends who seek your company? It’s probably inevitable. I’m going to blog an entry about dealing with RSS feed overload (when I get a chance, ha ha).

    But concrete advantages of one being one kind of worker instead of the other seems both obvious and impossible. It feels like another world, doesn’t it?

  • Seb says:

    Didier, it would be sad indeed if we spent all our time writing and very little reading. (Actually, I think some academics are in that unfortunate situation.)

    Daniel, I think the difference between yourself and “old school workers” may not show so much in the workload (which always seems to expand to take up all available space regardless of productivity) as in your ability to make better-informed choices as to what’s worth pursuing and to take on more ambitious challenges.

  • Fred says:

    Hello Daniel,

    It’s just a little reaction on this assertion:

    “My blog is one of my key knowledge management tools.”

    Have you ever read this article: http://www.roell.net/publikationen/distributedkm.shtml

    It’s one of the best I read about Blogs as Knowledge Management Tool. I think it worth the reading. I personally like it because it’s the article that incited me to blog. Since then, I only discovered the virtues of blogging 😉

    Salutations,

    Fred

  • I like your additional questions – my responses are similar, but I’m no longer in the basement 😉

  • Harold: I don’t work in my basement, though I will one day soon… new kid coming soon….

  • Comments are closed.