Daniel Lemire's blog

, 3 min read

Primed for Numbers

4 thoughts on “Primed for Numbers”

  1. Suresh says:

    doesn’t this contradict your earlier point that we should dissuade too many people from doing Ph.Ds in CS/Math/in general ?

  2. Daniel Lemire says:

    I don’t see how I contradict myself?

  3. Suresh says:

    “if we had more women in science and mathematics, we would have more people altogether in science and mathematics. This would be a good thing for science and mathematics professors”

    “I’m not saying we should close down Ph.D. programs! But we should be honest and forthcoming about the job prospects.”

    I guess i view the first as saying that we want more people in science in math, and the second as implying that we have too many people in science and math…

  4. Daniel Lemire says:

    I don’t think I’m contradicting myself. The fact that it is good for some university professors if more people go into a particular field, is not in contradiction with the fact that we should be forthcoming about job prospects.

    Be honest about job possibilities, and hope to still have a large number of students.

    There might be a contradiction after all, I guess.