Daniel Lemire's blog

, 4 min read

Working upwind

5 thoughts on “Working upwind”

  1. Hello there Bouncing Baby Hippo, I’ll update my link to your blog… (name changes are evil, I think, that’s why I always use my own name…)

  2. I think that’s very wise. I spent most of 2004 trying to work out what the heck my goals are and whether or not I should even have any. Goals are stupid anyway because they involve putting things off. Oh I’ll work hard for 20 years then we’ll have some fun. All too often people are dead by the time that happens. All we have is now so it makes sense to work with what we have now. (This is Bouncing Baby Hippo by the way. I’m not sure if you kept track of my one million name changes)

  3. Moebius Stripper says:

    That’s encouraging, because that’s exactly what I’ve been doing; I love my job, but I also know myself well enough to know that I’m not going to love it five years from now, and I don’t want to spend the next thirty years doing something I don’t love. My very general goal right now is to build up enough skills and experience that I can do more or less whatever I want with my life, and live comfortably. (When my contract expires in a few months, I plan to take six months or so doing pottery almost full-time. After that, well, we’ll see.)

  4. That’s a good attitude. Enjoy the present and use it to build up skills so that you can still be enjoying the present 5 years down the line.

  5. didier says:

    This makes sense. The stuff you remember thge most from school comes from you being interested in it and being curious about it. It feels great when you’re toying/poking stuff and you realize that you end up retaining some of that stuff.