Daniel Lemire's blog

, 1 min read

Freedom in networked research: what does it mean?

2 thoughts on “Freedom in networked research: what does it mean?”

  1. Claire says:

    I think research is collecting, organizing and storing information.

  2. I agree with you that it is a valid definition. But it isn’t what I do for a living. What you describe is more like journalistic research, or library research… When I write “research”, I mean the “research *I* do”. Sorry to sound egocentric… but there is no other way to put it.

    Collecting and organizing information is part of what I do, and hopefully, part of my contribution to society, but the research I do involves creativity and it involves the network.

    Oh… where to start… I don’t even want to try to propose a definition of what research is… I’m not even sure it is possible.