Daniel Lemire's blog

, 3 min read

Is Montréal a creative city?

3 thoughts on “Is Montréal a creative city?”

  1. Seb says:

    Well, one data point is that Montreal has two English alternative weeklies, and I think they kick Voir and Ici’s ass.

  2. mir says:

    I would be interested to hear your take on Floridas book in general I am in the middle of it right now, and I am both interested in, and frustrated by, what he has to say..

    I would also disagree with his rating of toronto hiigher than montreal. I moved here from toronto specifically for the artist – run culture of montreal. there are many many more artist run centres in montreal than in toronto – more cultural funding in general in quebec than in the rest of canada put together, this has to do with the provincial funding structure rather than a bias on the part of the feds.

    But, and this brings me to my problem with Floridas research, I think broadly catgorising creative work, as being something about ingenuity and about changing or creating something – rather bastardizes the term. I work both as an artist and a web developer and while I view both occupations as creative, I wouldn’t use the same analytical tools to describe them.. any thoughts?

    ps really; hour and mirror better than ici and voir??

  3. Daniel Lemire says:

    I don’t think Florida claims to measure everything accurately. Obviously, his measures will be bias. But if you require him to take all biases out first, he would not be able to measure anything at all. In science, we have to accept that a bias, unaccurate measure might be better than no measure at all.

    I lived in Toronto for 5 years. It was clearly more business minded than Montréal.

    I have no idea if maybe the English community in Montréal is more interesting, that’s a theory I throw in. I don’t read Hour or Mirror, nor the French ones. I only read the Devoir.